skip navigation

FC Tucson Adds Forward Zach Wright For The 2019 Season.

By FC Tucson Communications , 03/11/19, 1:00PM MST


Former Sporting Kansas City Homegrown adds to Tucson attack.

TUCSON (March 11, 2019) -- FC Tucson announced today it had signed forward Zach Wright for the 2019 USL League One season pending league and federation approval. Per club policy, the details of the contract will not be released.

“I’m excited to join FC Tucson due to the culture that’s being created here. It’s a great fit for me and my mind is on winning the cup.”

Wright, a native of Smithville, Texas, most recently suited up for Rio Grande Valley FC of the USL Championship. He registered one assist in two starts for the Toros.

Prior to that, Wright signed a Homegrown contract with Sporting Kansas City of Major League Soccer. During his youth career, Wright was a member of the Sporting Kansas City Development Academy. 

A graduate of UNC-Chapel Hill, he tallied 15 goals, 28 assists, 58 points and eight game-winners during his four-year career as a Tar Heel. Wright nabbed second team All-ACC honors during his final season in Chapel Hill.

With the addition of Wright, FC Tucson’s roster now stands at 18 players for the 2019 USL League One season. 

About FC Tucson  

FC Tucson, established in 2010, is participating in its first-ever professional season in USL League 1. In 2012, FC Tucson was named the USL League 2 Rookie Franchise of the Year. To stay up to date on the club, check out the team’s website at You can also visit the team’s Facebook page at and follow all of the news related to FC Tucson on Twitter at  

About USL League One 

USL League One is shaping the future of the game in the United States, uniting passionate fans in new markets with the thrill of a proven professional soccer experience. League One submitted its sanctioning application to the U.S. Soccer Federation on Aug. 14. South Georgia Tormenta FC, FC Tucson, Greenville Triumph SC, Forward Madison FC, Chattanooga Red Wolves SC, Toronto FC II, Orlando City B, Lansing Ignite FC, North Texas SC and the Richmond Kickers have been revealed as teams set to compete in the inaugural 2019 season. 


Latest News