skip navigation

FC Tucson Acquires Three Players Ahead Of Home Opener

By FC Tucson Communications, 04/11/19, 3:00PM MST


TUCSON (April 10, 2019) -- FC Tucson announced today it had acquired defenders Scott Devoss and Klisman Sousa on loan from USL Championship side Hartford Athletic for the 2019 USL League One season pending league and federation approval. 

Devoss played collegiately at the University of Denver from 2014 to 2018. He registered a school-record 83 career appearances and six goals during his tenure with the Pioneers.

Sousa spent four years at Providence College in Providence, Rhode Island. The 6-foot, 175-pound defender registered nearly 4,000 minutes of play over 55 career appearances.  Sousa was named to the All-Big East Freshman team in 2015 as well as second team All-Big East in 2018. 

In addition, Illijah Paul a 16-year-old from Gilbert, AZ, has been reassigned to FC Tucson from USL Championship parent club Phoenix Rising.

With the addition of Devoss, Sousa and Paul, FC Tucson’s roster now stands at 22 players for the 2019 USL League One season. 

All three players are expected to be available for selection Saturday night when FC Tucson hosts Toronto FC II in their Home Opener. Kickoff is set for 7:30 p.m and the match is presented by Vantage West.

About FC Tucson  

FC Tucson, established in 2010, is participating in its first-ever professional season in USL League 1. In 2012, FC Tucson was named the USL League 2 Rookie Franchise of the Year. To stay up to date on the club, check out the team’s website at You can also visit the team’s Facebook page at and follow all of the news related to FC Tucson on Twitter at  

About USL League One 

USL League One is shaping the future of the game in the United States, uniting passionate fans in new markets with the thrill of a proven professional soccer experience. League One submitted its sanctioning application to the U.S. Soccer Federation on Aug. 14. South Georgia Tormenta FC, FC Tucson, Greenville Triumph SC, Forward Madison FC, Chattanooga Red Wolves SC, Toronto FC II, Orlando City B, Lansing Ignite FC, North Texas SC and the Richmond Kickers have been revealed as teams set to compete in the inaugural 2019 season. 


Latest News